Guess what I’ve got in my pocket…

…I did have some money, then I went and spent it on…Pokemon. I vowed to never do it again but this weekend I went and did it, I bought a copy of Pokemon Soul Silver on DS. Now I have a Pokemon in my my pocket housed in my fancy new Pokewalker. The things they come up with these days…

For those who aren’t familiar with the term, a Pokewalker is a pedometer that turns your steps into experience points for your Pokemon and comes bundled with the recent release of Pokemon Soul Silver on Nintendo DS. You can copy any of your Pokemon from the DS game to the Pokewalker and take them for a stroll with you. Who ever said video games were unhealthy!

I’m just taking walks for the sake of it now, all to train my Pokemon…

…and that’s just what this game does to you, it becomes an occupation.

I don’t know what possessed me to embark on another Pokemon adventure, maybe it was the nice weather, the fact that I was going out for the day and wanted to relive my youth by playing Pokemon on the move (which now you can literally do that too with the Pokewalker). Maybe I’m just mad…

In truth though I think it’s because Pokemon Silver was one of my favourite games back in the day and I can happily say it’s as enjoyable today as it was back in the late 90s.

Soul Silver’s still essentially the same game it was when it was first released albeit with a few of the new features that have been added to the games over the years and of course my favourite new feature, the Pokewalker! I think though that’s why I like it. It has the nostalgia factor.

Having played Soul Silver for a couple of hours now and winning my first Gym badge, I have to admit the magic is back and I’m thoroughly enjoying reliving the experience I had when I first played the game all those years ago on my Game Boy Color…think I’m going to go for another stroll…

Pokemon Soul Silver and Heart Gold are available now for Nintendo DS.

Screenshot courtesy of ign.com

Leave a Reply

